

How many moons in our solar system

Jupiter has 95 moons that have been officially recognized by the International Astronomical Union. But the number doesn't capture the complexity of the Jovian system of moons, rings and asteroids. The giant planet has thousands of small objects in its orbit.

Our solar system is made up of a star--the Sun--eight planets, 146 moons, a bunch of comets, asteroids and space rocks, ice, and several dwarf planets, such as Pluto. The eight planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.

There are hundreds of moons in our solar system - even asteroids have been found to have small companion moons. Of the terrestrial (rocky) planets of the inner solar system, neither Mercury nor Venus have any moons at all, Earth has one and Mars has its two small moons.

Our solar system has hundreds of moons orbiting planets, dwarf planets, and asteroids. Of the eight planets, Mercury and Venus are the only ones with no moons, although Venus does have a quasi-satellite that has officially been named Zoozve.

According to the NASA/JPL Solar System Dynamics team, the current tally of moons orbiting planets in our solar system is 293: One moon for Earth; two for Mars; 95 at Jupiter; 146 at Saturn; 28 at Uranus; 16 at Neptune; and five for dwarf planet Pluto.

Jupiter's moon Ganymede is the largest in the solar system. It's bigger than Mercury and Pluto, and three-quarters the size of Mars. It's also the only moon known to have its own magnetic field.

Web: https://derickwatts.co.za

Chat online: https://tawk.to/chat/667676879d7f358570d23f9d/1i0vbu11i?web=https://derickwatts.co.za